Spring Hill College Entrance
Spring Hill College, the third oldest Jesuit college in the United States, has held a prominent place in the heart of our community since it first opened its doors to students in 1830. The college campus that borders Old Shell Road adds to the ambiance of Spring Hill with its attractive entrance and the “Avenue of the Oaks,” an iconic vista leading to the historic Stewartfield house built in 1848.
Nowhere is the addition of the Village streetscape more significant than at the entrance of historic Spring Hill College. Private funding from individuals, foundations and businesses is making it possible for TVSH to implement the $53,000 streetscape plan along Old Shell Road in front of Spring Hill College. Not only will the streetscape add to the beauty of the campus with its benches and trees, the streetlights will help provide a better sense of security for the students.
As a first step in the streetscape plan, four Old Mobile benches have recently been placed to adorn the campus frontage. A memorial bench honors Senator Harry E. “Hap” Myers, Jr. who helped realize the vision of The Village of Spring Hill, Inc. The family of Dr. Fred Cushing and the family of Dr. Graham McClintock, Jr. donated a bench in memory of Sylvia Sargent Cushing and Jean Aird Pill McClintock and Jeanie McClintock, respectively. A bench in remembrance of Mary Ellen “Beebs” Thompson has been given by her friends Dr. & Mrs. Samuel J. Strada and children, Dr. & Mrs. Roy Martino, Dr. & Mrs. Randall W. Powell and others.
The addition of trees and streetlights is expected to be completed within the coming months. The Board of Directors of TVSH is very grateful to those who have so generously contributed to this project which complements the “sense of place” that Spring Hill College has provided since 1830.